March 25th

Posted: March 31, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

I finally got up the courage to walk into The Centre and see if there were any volunteer positions I could fill, specifically in the weight room. It turns out, in order for the weight room to be open to the public, they do need someone there to supervise it, and at this point, they don’t have anyone to do so on Sundays – until now. I start tomorrow, and the Saturday supervisor gave me a crash course in how to use all of the equipment, sanitation and basic duties of a supervisor: spotting, answering questions and making sure people wipe down their area after using it. I also get the fun task of spraying and wiping down everything at the end of the day, but for six hours a week, I have access to the weight room and will be helping the community. The coordinators at The Centre were ecstatic – apparently it has been a really long time since they have had enough volunteers to be able to be open 7 days a week. Now it is open daily from 11am – 5pm, which means that I won’t be too late to get home and make a quick dinner on Sundays.

It feels good to have something that is mine, and to build on a hobby I have been doing for a while now. It almost makes me feel productive that I am putting something new and interesting into my schedule. Let’s see how it goes.

As one might guess, if one were strange enough to read this private diary, there hasn’t been any word of Andrew. I called his roommates again, in case my message got lost in the chaos, but they still haven’t heard from him, and have been looking around, too. Maybe he really did leave town while the breach was still open. If he did, I hope he knew that he was doing. At this point, if he had died somewhere in town, I’m sure that someone would have found his body and it would have been reported by The Council so they could make a positive identification before dealing with the remains. They keep a really good record of everyone who lives here, and everyone who dies here.

I’m trying to keep positive about it. If he left, which I think he did, I’m sure he had a good reason and he knows what he is doing. He made it all the way to our town on his own, and I’m sure he can take care of himself.

I’m a little nervous about my first supervising session tomorrow. What if someone asks a question that I don’t know the answer to? Reading up on the subject in Mother’s old fitness magazines doesn’t exactly make me a personal trainer, but I’m sure common sense will go a long way. I won’t push anyone to do anything that seems unsafe, and I’ll stop anyone who looks like they are about to hurt themselves – I just don’t want anything to go wrong on my watch, especially on my first day. If I am lucky, maybe there won’t be that many people, since no one is used to the gym being open on Sundays, so I can ease myself into this position instead of being instantly overwhelmed.

I’m looking forward to taking this down time to learn how to build muscle. I can feel myself getting healthier every day, which is really helping me see that carrying on and just living life as best I can considering the circumstances we’ve been dealt is the best way to live. I just need to remember that the next time there is a big breach. Or any breach, for that matter.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

