March 11th

Posted: March 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

The Recovery Team has come and gone, and zombie corpse is out of my basement. Ellen told them to just take the umbrella with them, because there was no way she’d ever be able to use it again. We still haven’t been given the all clear to go outside, but we have all decided it is fine to be on the main floor again, as long as we are vigilant about keeping the locks in place.

I pulled Nick and Andrew aside to see if they knew how the lock in the basement could have been breached, but they both swear that neither of them went near it when they went for supplies. Maybe the zombie worked on it for a while and it jiggled free in a freak accident – I don’t know. All I really know is it will be a good idea to put double locks on the basement windows as soon as I can go and purchase some.

Andrew still hasn’t mentioned anything about what I tried to talk to him about, and I’ve gotten a bad feeling about the whole thing, so I think I’ll just leave it at that. This way there are no hurt feelings, no more awkwardness and we can just continue as friends. I’m sure that I will find someone else someday that I will want to date, and I’m not in a huge hurry or anything. Just because he showed interest doesn’t mean we’d work out in the long run. I’m a strong girl, mentally and physically, so I think I have a long time to find Mr. Right, instead of Mr. Right Here. I was just stressed out, and that made me jump on the opportunity to fix things in the easiest way possible.

If all goes well and we can actually get out of the house tonight or tomorrow, I am definitely doing a large meal for Sunday dinner – probably a roast with all of the trimmings imaginable. We’ve all being pretty lack-luster in the eating department, and again I blame stress, so hopefully that will boast morale.

The Council still hasn’t told us what the extent of the damage around town is yet. I wonder if the girls will be able to go back to school on Monday, even though I am not sure if they want to. On the one hand, it gets them out of the house, which they need, but I think they fear the possibility of getting settled and then attacked – a never-ending cycle, which cannot be considered fun in any way.

Nick is itching, now more than ever, to get out there and help. A member of the Recovery Team took our phone number said they would call as soon as there is an all clear so Nick and meet the central team and start rebuilding things. Nick and Andrew’s boss will be there, too, so they can work out details for shifts until the barricade is fixed. Andrew doesn’t seem to be as eager to get out there, but I’m sure he’ll go along as well. At very least, he must be excited that he will be able to go home soon; that sounds much better than living in another persons’ clothes and sleeping on my floor. At least last night he was able to sleep on the couch, like when we met.

Ellen is being very helpful with boarding up the basement window and other household chores. I think she is just excited to be able to do something useful, instead of stealing pockets of sleep between periods of explosions and fear. I think we will all feel much better when things are back to whatever it is that we call normal these days. Even I think this is enough adventure for a while.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

