March 10th

Posted: March 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Well, fighting for my life gets my blood pumping every single time. At least my legs are no longer itching for a run after checking the basement yesterday, mostly for something to occupy my mind, and finding a zombie had wriggled through a window. Don’t ask me how it managed to open a window I know I had locked and checked a dozen times since this whole invasion began, but it did, and even though I joked about the possibility of one of those creatures being in my house, I was not ready for it.

I didn’t see the zombie until a split second before it lunged from me, and this was out of the corner of my eye. I screamed, which probably drew all the blood from the faces of the people huddled upstairs, because it was a loud and ugly sound that no one ever wants to hear, especially during a breach situation. I managed to drop to the floor and room out of reach, but I was now on the opposite side of the room from the door, and had a zombie not only blocking my escape, but coming toward me. I’ll never forget his eyes; other physical features seem hazy in my mind, but his eyes were bright blue with rings of red and the most anger I have ever seen contained within eyes. It was around this point where I spotted the window he had wriggled through, and a crazy part of me actually forced me to dodge over, snap it shut and lock the bolt, even with the more present threat of the zombie right in front of me.

Leaning against the wall was, of all things, an umbrella. It looked like a nice one, too, but that wasn’t the thought that was weighing most heavily in my mind when I grabbed it and stabbed the pointed tip into the zombie’s eye, driving it right into the brain. The catch that allows the umbrella to convert from close to open was pressed in the short struggle, and it send soggy zombie bits flying as the beast fell to the floor, immobile.

That’s when I heard someone calling my name from upstairs. I rechecked all the windows before climbing the stairs back to the main floor, and returning the call, letting everyone know I was all right, but there was a mess in the basement we would have to clean up once it was safe to call in the Recovery Team, and Ellen would be needing a new umbrella.

Everyone was huddled together on the landing of the stairs as I turned the corner to join them on the upper floor. Andrew and Nick were at the front, protecting the girls, but even their eyes bulged at the sight of zombie bits on my clothing. I pushed by, trying not to contaminate their clothing with my mess, saying I needed a shower and fresh clothing, and asked the guys to check all the security points. I put Ellen in charge of trying to contact The Council, since we would need a Recovery Team to remove the corpse from her suite.

I took my shower, changed into fresh clothing and all of the adrenaline that was pulsing through my veins felt like it screeched to a halt as soon as I sprawled out on my bed. By the time I woke up from my impromptu nap, Ellen was by my side, saying that the Recovery Team was on its way. Hours had passed, the laundry was finished, folded and delivered to the rightful owners, and Nick had started to make dinner. The television was on with the volume low, and although there weren’t many answers to our questions being broadcast, they did let us know one thing – the situation was not contained.

Always,
-Miriam

Comments
  1. Lillian says:

    Hmmm…I keep getting the feeling that Andrew and the zombies are somehow connected…not sure why, but the feeling’s there.

Leave a Reply

