March 2nd

Posted: March 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

I realized after reading over yesterday’s entry (yes, my life is really that boring) that my entry didn’t have much to do with me, but rather the people around me and my reaction to them. I don’t really know what to write about myself, and I figure that is because I don’t really know what (if any) questions I should be answering. Should I talk about every different type of emotion I experience on a day-to-day basis? Should I live my life in such a way that I have an awesome story to record in these pages? I didn’t really ever get to ask Rick why he thought it was important for me to write in a diary, and I never really stopped to consider what type of things should be written in a diary. I wonder if there are rules anywhere, or if everyone’s diary is a little different. My person goal is to write every day, even though I don’t feel like I have something interesting or relevant to say every day. I also think it is a cop-out to only write a couple of lines, even if I am only writing about the soup I made for lunch or how other people’s lives are going.

Speaking of which, the girls finally have their schedules sorted out and got to start real classes today, so their spirits seem to be a little higher. Ellen is still glued to the phone downstairs, and at one point had a miniature panic attack because she thought she put the wrong phone number on her resumes (I looked at a copy, but the number is right). The people she handed her resumes to are probably just busy, and I’m sure someone will get back to her soon. Nick is still liking his new job, so it’s not as though Ellen needs to worry about money for a little while at least, considering I assume they have some savings and he’s already lined up for a paycheck at the next pay-day.

As for me, you might have guessed, I went for a run today to avoid Ellen’s near-obsessive staring match with the telephone, and then I made chicken, rice and vegetables for dinner. As always, people liked it – Nick even had seconds, so I think any fears I had of being a horrible cook have fled. I pre-made the girl’s lunches, and one for Nick since he works again tomorrow, cleaned the kitchen and decided to pass on being overly social and retired early to my room. I guess this is my new routine, and I am falling right into it, although I still feel like something is missing.

Oh, I forgot to mention: I didn’t end up going for that walk last night. I let slip during dinner that I was thinking about it, and the absolutely frightened reaction of everyone at the table screeched the wheels of that plan to a halt. Nick was worried and said that if I really needed to go, he would come with me for protection, but all of the girls nearly begged me to stay inside. I assured them it was just a passing idea, and that I wouldn’t leave after all. Only then did they seem to calm down and go back to eating. Penelope and Mandy helped me clear the dishes and then invited me to play a card game with them. I had a strange feeling that I was being held under observation, but regardless, I enjoyed the game and the company. It was nice to play something other than Solitaire (yes, I know how lame and ironic that sounds).

Since tomorrow is Friday and Nick seemed to hit it off with him, I’ve invited Andrew to come for dinner. When the girls weren’t being scared out of their minds, having just run from zombies before I burst through the front door with a stranger, they seemed to enjoy his company, too. With the amount of time he seems to be passing by my neighbourhood, I wonder how much he is liking where ever it is he is living these days.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

