February 28th

Posted: February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Dinner last night was a little tense, and the fact that it was delicious didn’t help make the girls any happier. They had a hard first day of school because it was basically one long meeting with councillors who asked them endless questions about their lives: where their families where, what they liked about school, their favourite subjects, how many people they have seen dead. They were both white as sheets when they got back to the house, and they didn’t have much of an appetite. I don’t know if I would either – I always remember not being able to eat after particularly harsh session with Rick. They don’t really want to go back to school this morning, but what choice do they have? I walked them again this morning, and hopefully that gave them a feeling of not being alone. At least they have each other for comfort, and I told them that I am here if they want to talk.

I don’t know if they will ever take me up on that, but I suppose it might be a comfort for them to know that they could if they wanted. I think they have another meeting with the councillors today to sort out their courses. It must be strange to be joining a new class halfway through this semester, but Dana said it is much better to get back in the swing of “normal” life than to sit around and wait for the new school year to start in September. This is probably true, and I don’t know what I would do with two teenagers sitting around the house all day for six months before they got into the groove of school again.

Ellen is out handing out her resume, and Nick is at his first official day of work, although they kept him there until dinner yesterday, showing him around and introducing him to the other employees. I guess he was a big hit, and there was a recent vacancy so they need all the quality help they can get.

I wonder if this is what the latter years of having kids feels like. I mean, obviously I don’t see them as such, and I don’t want to be changing their diapers ever, but I kind of feel like I am at the central point where all these lives cross over, and even though I have only known they all a short while, I feel like we all depend on each other a little bit. That might sound crazy, or it might be my mind’s attempt to feel included in lives other than my own, but it was a random thought that came to me today while I tidied up the kitchen after I walked Penelope and Mandy to school and came home to an empty house.

I’ve potentially grown a little too fond of bubble baths, because I indulged again today, since no one was home and I didn’t have any pressing tasks to which I needed to attend. I’ve found that if I am really interested in the book I am reading, I sometimes sit there until the water has grown cold without realizing how more than an hour has passed. It really is a toss-up between adding more hot wanted or getting warm and dry, then continuing my reading. Today was a “use up all the hot water because no one else needs it” sort of day, although I’ll have to make sure that I don’t make it too much of a habit, or I won’t have any profit from taking in tenants.

Hey, two months and I am still writing in this journal. Rick would be proud. Actually, I think he might be surprised, but there would likely be some pride in there, as well. I only have to do what I have done five more times and I’ll have done the entire year.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

