February 17th

Posted: February 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

I don’t know if this is good news or bad news, but the buses haven’t returned yet. However, Andrew and I got all of the pressing physical labour done, and the house is looking great. I am holding off doing a giant grocery shop until I actually have tenants, but my inspection is tomorrow; I was surprised that I could schedule it so quickly, but it looks like The Council is really excited to have another location to house people. It is a great feeling to know that they want me to succeed, and I really think that I am going to pass this test easily.

The dining room is actually habitable now, and I can actually do my paperwork in my office without feeling like something is going to fall on me and end my life. I don’t remember this house ever being so tidy, not even when I was a really little kid, before the barricade went up and Mother started hoarding everything under the sun (most of which has either been tossed in the trash or donated to The Centre, with the exception of some books and movies that I have hidden in a cabinet in my office or up in my room).

I am also pleased with how nice the basement suite has turned out. I mean, it is nothing fancy, but it is enough room for a small family, even though they will have to come up to the main floor to use the bathroom and eat with everyone else. Depending on who ends up renting it, I can even get some materials for temporary/movable dividers if they want to make an extra bedroom down there. Now that everything is done, and Andrew is fed and on his way home, I just have to worry about my own laundry and tidying up the mess that I have left in my own room, since I haven’t been paying much attention to keeping it clean when everything else seemed to be high priority.

I was able to stock up on essentials, such as toilet paper, soap and cleaning supplies when I did a quick run to the store, and I found a large bundle of towels to store on shelves in the bathrooms so people can grab a towel and then put it in the laundry when they are done with it. I’ve put so many things on my To Do List, and then crossed them off, in the last few days that I honestly don’t know if I could have missed anything. I feel ready – and a year ago it would have seemed weird to feel ready to have a bunch of strangers move into my house, but times change and people grow, I suppose.

I took a small break just now, grabbed all my dirty laundry from upstairs and put it in the wash, because the thought of it sitting up there unfinished was driving me a little crazy, even though I hadn’t finished this entry yet. Writing in here feels like a treat I get after I have finished all my chores, and if Rick were around to hear me say that, I’m sure he would be laughing his face off right now. I remember hating the idea of keeping this journal, but it has become a part of my life that I actually look forward to. I think it is partly due to this journal that I decided to become a land lady – because now I will have endless material about which I can write, since I will soon have responsibility for the living conditions of three rooms full of strangers. Sure, I can’t adventure outside of my town, but I have pretty much forced adventure to come to me.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

