February 14th

Posted: February 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Apparently, according to Andrew, this date used to be some kind of holiday for lovers. He was trying to tell me it was originally named after someone called St. Valentine, but usually meant people gave each other flowers and chocolates and went on romantic dates. He even mentioned that some company used to make candies that had things like “Be Mine” written on them and cinnamon-flavoured heart-shaped candies that were really popular after the chocolates. I’ve never heard of it, and my Mother wouldn’t have celebrated anything like this considering she didn’t date after my Father left, but maybe it is a real thing. Either way, it made me wonder why he brought it up. It could have just been a point for conversation, considering it is way more fun to get the basement cleared if you are trading random banter, but considering my recent friendship decision, it made things a little awkward.

We moved past it, though, after we talked about how I had no idea what he was talking about. Maybe other people celebrate this holiday, but I don’t know if romance is something that I’ll be celebrating any time soon.

We managed to get all of the junk cleared and sorted out of the basement; I have a lot of cleaning ahead of me, and still need to get more furniture. Hopefully The Centre will have some available, and have some way of delivering it, because there is no way that I can haul a bed through the streets, even with help from someone like Andrew. With my luck, we’d get attacked by zombies on the way home and have to leave the bed in the street to be bled all over. That’s a morbid and strange mental image that I would rather forget…

In celebration of this possibly fake holiday, I’m about to take a nice, long bubble bath to get the stink of all the stacks of junk from the basement off my skin. Poor Andrew looked exhausted, even after I fed him dinner and sent him on his way. Hopefully he gets a good sleep before he goes back to work tomorrow. I’m going to need to get some sleep, too, before starting the scrub down everything worth keeping in the basement; either that, or I am going to need a lot more coffee. A trip to the store might be in my future, depending on how I feel when I wake up tomorrow, but I’m sure the bath will help relax me, which will make for a great sleep and less of a need to be fueled by caffeine.

I started keeping a list of the things I need to figure out – like the meal/grocery planning I mentioned yesterday, so hopefully once I get all of this physical labour done, I can start on the operational details. I suppose it also comes down to what people like to eat and if they have any allergies. I really hope that I can figure out meals that everyone can eat, because I don’t want to have to make all sorts of separate things for separate people; I also have to figure out if people will be making their own breakfasts/lunches, or if I will head that effort up. Perhaps it will depend on people’s schedules, their preferences for eating schedules… It is a lot of details to keep in mind, and there are a lot of variables that I can’t decide before I meet the people I will be taking into the house. I’m pretty excited to start interviewing people, and I’m optimistic that I will be able to find a group of people who will mesh together into an interesting social group.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

