Febraury 9th

Posted: February 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

The official count from The Council was 26 Invaders (they still refuse to refer to them as zombies), 4 Civilian Injured and 7 Civilians Deceased. I don’t know if I have ever seen a horde that size, and it has been quite a while since so many people were injured and killed in one attack. It seems that a rather large fault was found in the barricade, and it was late into the night (or early into the morning, depending on how you look at it) because the temporary fix was in place. A team of guards kept watch for the rest of the night before the final fix was put in place this morning, which involved a fair amount of grunt work, according to Andrew, whose boss is sometimes called out for fixes considering his extensive knowledge on the subject (I guess growing up around all those tools and building materials all of him life made he a rather popular man when the invasions started).

What I want to know, and what isn’t explained in any of the notices from The Council, is how a horde that size came to break through our walls unnoticed. To my knowledge, zombies aren’t exactly a sneaky type of attacker (not that they scream to warn you they are coming, or anything). It just seems strange that there were so many of them, and so many of them got through and did so much damage before they were contained. It makes me wonder if they travel in packs or just happened to converge in the same place at the same time. I wonder if anyone has every studied their patterns. Probably not; the usual response is to get rid of them as fast as possible (which isn’t wrong, but doesn’t help us understand and prevent more deaths – mind you, if someone did make a study of them, they would probably be in a lot of danger themselves and quite possibly end up dead when they could have lived had the zombies been neutralized in the first place).

It really just makes me wonder if I will ever see an age where towns don’t have to live in constant fear of being attacked by zombies; will I ever be allowed to go anywhere other than to my city walls? If all of the threats could be taken care of, there would be lots of places that need rebuilding, and if I were allowed to leave my town, I would love to travel, see different places, and help people get their lives back in order. I don’t even really know how far this “invasion” extends, or how much of the population of the country, let alone the worlds, has been destroyed. The Council doesn’t really keep us updated, and no one has access to online information sources from other towns and countries outside of The Council. I suppose they are trying to give some normalcy to our small town lives, but I hate to think of living in a town that is constantly attacked by zombies as normal. Technically, this is my normal, but I hope that one day it will just be a bizarre past that is recorded in history books. The horrors will be written down and filed away, and future generations will feel lucky that they didn’t have to suffer through these years, like I remembered feeling lucky about not having to live during the times of the World Wars or vast plagues. I could never fully fathom how day-to-day life must have felt, even when I read “The Diary of Anne Frank,” so I assume future generations will have a similar lack of complete understanding for my generations’ tragedies. The best we can do is to pass on the details to those who really want to know them, and try to prevent anything like this ever happening in our society again. I just don’t know if anyone will come up with ways of preventing further instances that are effective and don’t end up creating new problems.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

