January 26th

Posted: January 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Work was actually busy, and at some point I’ll try to figure out the mystery behind this upturn in customers. However, I have the next two days off and am going to make it my goal to clean out the master bedroom and move into it before I return to work.

I dragged a couple of large bags of donation items to the centre this morning on my way to work. Hopefully there are some items that other people will find useful. I also made sure that all my rubbish was out for roadside collection, as the truck came around today while I was at work. I picked up more cleaning supplies and garbage bags on my way home from work, and now I’m just waiting for dinner to finish cooking so I can eat it and get down to business.

I haven’t really taken a hard look in there in a while, but I think there might be some useful furniture in there that I can clean up and use for any of the useful items I might find – old books or more movies, perhaps? I wonder if there are any electronics stored amid the junk piles?

What I’m really hoping to find is some sort of photo album from when Mother was still around. It would be nice to be able to look back at those times, to spark some memories, since I can’t just ask about stories from when I was younger. Granted, a photo album isn’t going to give me the stories, but I could always had fun making up my own stories based on the photographs.

I made sure to grab a few groceries while I was at the store getting cleaning supplies – mostly things that I don’t need to heat or chill in order to eat, so feeding myself shouldn’t slow me down too much over the next two days. If I’m making really good progress, I might even take a break to go for a run tomorrow, assuming the weather cooperates. I read somewhere that it takes time to build a habit, and since I am still writing in this journal after 26 days, I can only assume that has become habit by now. I look forward to a time where I can think to myself that all the things I like to do, that either make me happy or feel accomplished, have become habit.

I suppose I should get started on the dinner dishes, so they don’t get all hard and crusty over the next couple of days. The ones that are currently in use can soak in the sink until I need a master bedroom break (after I’ve eaten, of course). I don’t know if I should be proud or slightly sad at how excited I am to do this project, but I think it is really about time that I make this change. I’m looking forward to having the ability to walk around my house without the threat of being attacked by a pile of garbage, and it will be nice to have a bigger bedroom. Things just feel more comfortable when you are able to have a place for everything, and space to walk around all the things in your room. Eventually, I’d like to move all of my toiletries to the en suite bathroom just off the master bath, but something tells me that cleaning that bathroom is going to be another day of work; I don’t think Mother used it for its original purpose, but rather for more junk storage. At least, I’m hoping it just has completely easy to deal with, dry items that can be sorted and either kept, donated or trashed without the need for rubber gloves and a gas mask. But, I’m getting ahead of myself – that will be an adventure for next week.

There’s that word again – adventure. It’s been on my mind a lot recently.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

