January 21st

Posted: January 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Last night is a little bit of a blur. I got home, had some dinner and grabbed a random book from one of Mother’s stacks. It must have been the sequel to another book, because it didn’t really explain the setting very well, but it was easy reading so I just went with it. My mind was focused on this pretend world when I was snapped away by a loud bang on my front door. I rocked to my feet, Andrew’s bat in my hand and edged toward the window next to my door as the strangest thing happened – three short knocks on my door. Zombies don’t knock. I peeked out the window to see a very shadowy Andrew on my door step. Of course – I always lock the door, and he was just getting back from training. I let him in, and relocked the door.

It turns out he’d purchased an item to celebrate his first day on the job – a bottle of alcohol. At first glance, I couldn’t even tell what it was, because I’ve never actually bought any. It is expensive, because it is hard to stock, and Mother never kept it around because she saw it as a waste of money. Since I’m not exactly the party girl type, I’ve never had any.

Andrew gave me a quick lesson. Apparently it is called wine, and this specific kind is called red wine, although it has a different name based on the type of grapes the makers used. I don’t remember what the makers were called, or what type of grapes they used. I do remember Andrew saying that compared to other wines, this one was pretty inexpensive, but unless you drink a lot of wine, it is hard to tell the difference. Some have different hints of things like chocolate or fruit or trees, which I found a little confusing, but Andrew pointed out that I could try my glass and he wouldn’t be offended if I didn’t want more. He actually had two bottles, which is probably why the night progressed into a blur and my head hurts this morning.

I remember it made me feel warm, but from the inside, like I had just had a big bowl of soup. The taste was different (not at all like grape juice, which is what I thought it might be similar to) than things I’ve had before, but I am still on the fence as to if I like it or not.

One thing is for certain – I am pretty happy that I have closing shift, as there was no way I was waking up early after that. Another thing was certain, actually – I don’t remember us finishing both bottles, and I didn’t end up making it into my own bed. I woke up on the couch as Andrew was trying to get up so he could get ready to go to work.

I’m told that before zombies became common place, people used to drink wine, and something called spirits and another thing called beer, all the time. I wonder if it gave all of those people a headache like this one. I don’t even feel like going out in the sun, because it hurts my eyes more than usual. I felt good last night, but I think that is because I stole all the “feeling good” from today. I had to lie to the boss and say that I think I am coming down with a cold to cover how awful I looked at work. He sent me home about halfway through the shift and closed up, since we’d only had about 10 customers in 4 hours. I’m currently curled up on Andrew’s couch, wondering if his head is killing him. Seems like he might have it worse, considering he is at a hardware store with all those tools while I’m back at home, no longer listening to blenders and customers.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

