January 11th

Posted: January 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

You’ll never guess who I (nearly literally) ran into while doing laps of the field. Mostly, you won’t guess because you are made of paper and if you were able to answer I would freak out, set you on fire and have to get a new therapist so I could have someone to rage to about Rick’s stupid idea of writing in a journal and the resulting shenanigans.

Anyway, it was Apple, Orange and Banana Smoothie guy. I looked up at the last second and he was just coming out of the woods and into my path. He saw me a second later, stopped and I ended up dodging around him, field side, but my feet tied up in themselves and I went down, hard. I don’t know when my elbow will forgive me.

Strange thing was that he recognized me, even without there being a smoothie at the end of my arm. He was really apologetic, helped me up and everything. From the brief conversation I managed to have while babying my poor elbow, I learned that his name is Andrew, and his is, in fact, a new recruit by The Council, although he didn’t want to get into details about where he used to live. I can totally understand that.

Anyway, I wasn’t in much of a mood to keep running (and I was pretty much done before I banged myself up) so he walked me back to where I stashed my keys. My knee started to twinge at one point, but it is better now. I joked that he owed me one, considering I could have just kept the inertia going and crippled him, too.

To my surprise, he offered to take me to dinner. He must have caught me glancing down at my sweaty, and now grass-stained, running clothing before he said that I didn’t have to cash in tonight. I agreed a shower was in my future, but wrote down my address on a scrap of paper he had in his pocket, and made a plan for tomorrow night.

I told you I was going to be more adventurous, right? Does making a new friend count? A new friend with really gorgeous eyes and a hint of mystery must count as an adventure. I just hope I don’t do anything stupid, considering socializing, as a whole, isn’t really my thing. I’ll play it cool and casual. It’s not a big deal, just a free meal with a guy I saved from being steam-plowed over.

It’s not like it is the first time a guy has asked me out on a date…

Actually, journal, since you have proved by keeping silent this whole time that you aren’t going to suddenly start talking, I’ll let you in on something… assuming this is a date, it actually is the first one I’ve ever been asked on.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

