January 10th

Posted: January 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

Looks like I make stupid word errors when I am quickly writing on a tangent. Oh well, that’s what I get for re-reading my old posts. Maybe I shouldn’t do that – it just makes me sad about my writing skills and re-enforces the idea that I am pretty boring.

Journals aren’t meant to be read, though, are they? I remember reading that “Diary of Anne Frank” book in school, but I’m sure it had to be edited to select the most relevant passages, right? Surely, no one’s journal just falls out of them in a completely readable and poignant fashion. At least, mine doesn’t, but that’s fine, because I don’t plan on leaving it anywhere that people will find it and use it as a study of someone who lived in a barricaded town during the plague of zombies.

Wait, that would be kind of cool. My name would be famous, although I probably wouldn’t be around to enjoy it. If someone considering publishing this journal is reading this, please, for my sake, edit my spelling errors and leave out anything embarrassing (and this plea). Thanks.

As for adventures since I last wrote, I only had one if you count grocery shopping, which, to be fair, could count, considering the people I see in the market. There are couples who bicker about every item, others who talk to themselves out loud, trying to figure out what is the best value. Today I saw a girl who must have made a weight loss New Year resolution, because she was calculating calories from the boxes of food – with an actual calculator. I’m not an expert, but if the food comes from a box, it’s probably not going to be the best for you. Not to mention that stuff is way more expensive since we sometimes don’t get the monthly shipments from out-of-town.

I love shopping the produce aisle. There are so many colours in such as small space, and everything smells really good. Half the time I fill my basket up before I even leave that section, and since I don’t have anyone to help me carry my groceries home, and refuse to get one of those granny baskets to drag my food home in, I sometimes just get produce when I shop. Admittedly, that does make it difficult to make much more than a salad when I get home, but if I am seriously in need of another ingredient, the market is only a few blocks away. The rain held off long enough today so that I could make my second trip, and see a whole new set of people, going about their days in their own little worlds. The calculator girl was still there, and when I walked by she was grilling the stock boy about how many calories in an orange. Hopefully she realizes fresh food is better for her, but I wasn’t about to stick my nose in there, even though the stock boy looked slightly terrified.

One my second trip, I didn’t fall into the trap of shopping my favourite section a second time, but rather picked up a loaf of bread and browsed the meat. We keep a few animals on an old farm near the ends of town (and that area has the best protection at the barricades, considering the extra incentive for the zombies, assuming they eat animals) and every once in a while I am able to get some really fresh chicken. I freeze it and use it when I need it, which makes it last longer. Today, there wasn’t any chicken for the taking, so I grabbed a package of stew meat. They never really tell us what is in it, but I try not to think about it too much.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

