January 9th

Posted: January 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

Dear journal,

I could have sworn that when I ran in high school as part of P.E., it never burned my lungs so much. I guess I am way more out of shape than I thought. I wasn’t on the field five minutes before I thought about giving up, going home and curling up in my bed after a long, hot shower.

I suppose it makes sense. I can’t remember the last time I ran anywhere. My goal of going for a 30 minute run turned into just keeping moving around the field for 30 minutes, but I’m sure I’ll be better next time. And I don’t think I freaked anyone out, either, so I guess that’s a bonus.

The sweats I peeled from the back of my wardrobe were dripping by the time I got home, and I couldn’t wait to get them off. I downed a couple of glasses of water before having the shower I dreamed of on the field. I hope I’m not sore tomorrow. If I’m not, I’ll try to get a run in after my short shift. I guess that means I should either wash today’s running clothes or see if I can scare up some more, so I can bring them with me to work.

Other than my athletic adventure, today isn’t really a write-worthy day. I managed to stuff some of the old “toss pile” from the stacks I’ve cleared into the garbage bin, and washed the dishes I’ve been neglecting all week. Other than that, I’ve mostly wandered around the house, not doing much of anything. Is no new good news? Does this just prove that my life is boring? I don’t feel overly bored, but it’s not as though I’m going on daily adventures, creating a journal that would make readers want to keep turning the pages.

Maybe that’s why Rick wanted me to write a journal. Maybe he thought I wasn’t having enough fun in my life. Maybe he thought I was boring and wanted me to start getting out there so we would have more interesting things to talk about in our sessions. If so, I’m sure he was not any more interesting than I am! Other than the stories he could tell from the people he has as clients (if he is even legally allowed to tell stories), I doubt he had lots of tell the misses at the end of the day – if there was one. I’m not entirely sure. I don’t know if he was still seeing that skanky Claudia girl I’d seen lurking around his office near the end of the day. He dodged my questions when I asked about her, saying we were there to discuss me, but I could tell she was someone to him. I wonder if she was with him when he was attacked. There were two victims that day, but I didn’t pay attention to who the second one was when I found our Rick was gone. I suppose I could always check the records.

Why does this have me so curious? Why do I care? I didn’t even know her. All I remember is her legs where so long and thin that she looked like an insect and her face always had a scrunched-up look to it when I saw her. She was probably annoyed by the wedgie she was getting from the thong I always saw poking out of her skin-tight jeans and skirts.

If she was someone to Rick, she was probably nice, but I grew up with enough girls like her in high school that I didn’t really give her a chance. God, now I’m talking about her like she is dead without even knowing is she is alive or not.

Wow, then I get on a subject, I just run away with it. Sorry about that, journal. I’ll try to ramble less about unimportant things next time. And she what I can do about having an adventure before I write next.

Always,
-Miriam

Leave a Reply

